Question about full-length sizing dies?

Ok, I can often over think things.

But exactly what is a full- length sizing die supposed to accomplish? It sizes the full-length that's a circular argument.

I take a fired case and use that die. Is it supposed to, depending on where I set it, push the case from top to bottom allowing me to set the case length into spec? Or is it messing with the case diameter in a way I can't fathom?

Is it supposed to, depending on where I set it, smoosh the case back down to a pre-fired state? I don't think so but it crosses my brain.

To add to the complication, I've read that a case fired through a particular rifle expands to fit the rifle's chamber so just needs neck sizing.
Heller and McDonald are precedents to be followed, not obstacles
to be overcome

Re: Question about full-length sizing dies?

I'm no expert, and I'm sure others will have more/better info to add. But I'll answer anyway cause why not.

The case expands to fit nicely into the chamber of the rifle that fires it, the full length die squeezes the case back into spec. Neck sizing is great for target shooting brass that's only ever going to be used in one rifle, it can help the brass last longer and your brass is the perfect fit for your chamber. The case elongates during the sizing (more with full length than neck sizing) and when it gets too long you trim it back down to be within spec.

Neck sized brass might not chamber in a different rifle from the one that fired it last. Most of the people I've talked to recommend full length sizing for hunting because it's one less thing to go wrong.

And a picture!