Newbie in GA

Hi, all! I'm a newbie to the group and to shooting in general. I've taken a couple of intro classes at a local range and joined the Pink Pistols. I'm 53 and had never fired a weapon in my life. After Orlando, I began seriously considering the possibility of armed self-defense. I was raised never to touch a gun and am largely pacifist until the Just War point. I know the Second Amendment gives "a well regulated militia" the right to keep and bear arms. I also know that the political climate in this country is well past toxic and into dangerous.

I always said that I would never shoot anyone until we were at war or "they" came for me and mine. But as the mood changed in this country, I also knew that I had to get ahead of the game. You can't defend yourself if you haven't practiced beforehand. I struggled with the morality of it a lot. I don't believe it's right to kill other than in self-defense, and even then you have to live with that on your conscience forever. But I also worry about the very real possibility of war, or at least of armed insurrection by political/religious zealots. And as a member of the LGBTQ community, I know who'll be first on their list.

At 16, I had a convicted felon pull a gun on me and stick it in my ribs as he tried to drag me off. It's a miracle I'm alive. First I pulled a stubby screwdriver on him reflexively, which made him laugh. Then I apologized and gave him the dollar and change I had. He said, "I don't want your money," and tried to lead me around the corner. Again, reflexively, I screamed, "HEY! HELP!" and he let go and ran away. The cops who ate at the restaurant where I worked descended on the scene when they heard the call and he went away.

More recently, a vagrant groped me in a well-lit business, but the video cameras didn't clearly show his hand on my crotch and the cop who responded screwed the pooch, letting him go despite my clear insistence that I wanted to file charges.