Emergency medical care/gunshot wound thoughts

Kind of a combo post:

I was reading about carry ammo and seeing some of the hellish ammo out there, and it got me to thinking about EMS and the damage of a round. And, one of the newbies mentioned being a medic would be in high demand in a SHTF scenario.

I'm a former firefighter/medic and have seen a couple of gunshot wounds, along with more other ugly shit than I care to remember. I always assume everyone knows about medical stuff since I grew up around it, but as I realized last night when one of the dinner guests was relating a trip to the ER story and how he had to google the location of the appendix, that is really not the case.

I'm curious about a couple of things;

- How many of us have seen what our guns can really do to a person, and have you made peace with that?

- What steps have you taken (if any) to assure your ability to take care of you and yours if you are put in a situation where you or your loved one is damaged.

Re: Emergency medical care/gunshot wound thoughts

Bucolic wrote:I admit I haven't done much. I do keep Quik Clot in my range bag and first aid kit along with large gauze pads, tape, etc. I'd be interested in hearing advice on the issue of preparedness for gunshot wounds.

As for the wounds themselves, no, I have never witnessed the effect on humans.
Recently I had a long conversation with a friend who is an active medic, she suggested for people with past experience, get a current manual and learn the updated material.