Ammo storage tips, got any?

Finally starting to find ammo! My current storage is secure, but I was wondering if I should have any special considerations. I've come to the conclusion that I'll need to keep more on hand than just for a few range trips. Any storage tips and suggestions appreciated!

"Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated!" Loquacious of many. Texas Chapter Chief Cat Herder.

Re: Ammo storage tips, got any?

Might I ask a question...showing my newb'ness here. Please remember I only just took my basic course, and I have no firearm experience prior. The course instructor explained that thieves don't look in the kitchen, therefore a good hiding place would be the kitchen, if you are in a position that you are someplace where carrying would be inappropriate and have to leave your gun home or are needing to store your weapon for a longer period.

That said, let us assume that I have one of those vacuum seal bag machines. Is it safe for my weapon and/or ammo to store them in the vacuum sealed bag in my freezer or refrigerator ?? S

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
First of all, let's call it what it really is...It's not a gun buy-back, because the government never owned them. It's a gun turn in.

Dunno that I'd go the fridge route for a few reasons. First, remember that it's common wisdom that people put cash in the freezer. (Not sure why that started) So thieves may well go through the fridge, at least a quick glance. Second, I'd be concerned about condensation- vacuum sealer might fix the issue, but then you run into accessibility issues- having to cut open a bag before getting to it. Lastly, I'd also be concerned about lubrication performance. Probably fine, but lube thickens up for sure at lower temps....

That being said, you might want to put in a magnetic strip or something in the cabinet under the sink- I'm sure there are some quick access products designed just for that type of application.