Low Power Variable for PCC

Hey all,

I just recently got a TNW ASR in 9mm. I'm looking for a 1-6x or so optic for it. I've been considering the Votex strike eagle 1-6x24. I've never used magnification before and I am open to any suggestions. It's going to be used with backpacking, plinking, and target shooting. Hopefully it will never actually have to be used as a survival rifle, but you know...just in case. I could get lost backpacking or something.

Thanks for your help folks.

Re: Low Power Variable for PCC

I think that a 1x6 scope for a 9mm PCC is overkill. The amount of bullet drop after 100 yards for a 9mm is significant. I've shot 10" plates with a 6 MOA red dot consistently at 100 yards. Also many scopes have reticles that are for rifle rounds such as .233, so they're not applicable for 9mm. A 3x magnifier with a red dot would probably be your best bet if you have to have magnification, or even one with a fixed power.

Spara beat me to it- the BDC won't help at all, or will have very limited utility, and that much power is probably overkill. I'd probably roll with one of the fixed 2.5x or even just a red dot/prismatic sight and call it a day. Vortex makes a nice prismatic for $200 or less that is quality stuff.
“Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.”
- Maya Angelou

That review cracks me up.
With a rainbow of emotions ranging from joy, confusion, curiosity, determination, and uncertainty about what to do next, we put Sparc II in the microwave, where what appeared to be a mini lightning storm took place. We aren’t really sure what this replicates; let’s pretend an EMP or something. What used to be a nitrogen-filled sight turned into a black smoke-filled sight, and Sparc II’s dot would never again shine.
“Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.”
- Maya Angelou