Cleanest target ammo?

Since this applies across all ammo categories I put it in here.

While I have been shooting for a while, and owned firearms for 7 months, I haven't sat back and considered my ammo choices much beyond cost per round. It wasn't until I had bad experiences with my AR that it really struck home how much the quality of ammo can improve your shooting experience. Some ammunition just does not burn cleanly or it leaves something in the air that burns the nose and can't be good for the lungs. I've switched away from winchester for this reason and have started questioning my "cost per round" evaluation.

This said, shooting expensive ammo all the time is no good for the wallet. While I could go out and buy the "best of the best," most of it is not really practical for typical target shooting and probably has more to do with bullets and tolerances I think than it does on general brass and powder quality.

In yall's (inner texan is peeking out) experience, which ammo brands generally shoot the cleanest and leave you with the best brass(for cartridges worth reloading) without breaking the bank? I'm pretty much down to CCI in pistols and 22lr but I might be missing something so getting some perspective might help.

Later on I might post in reloading about finding good powder for your chosen cartridges (most likely 308, 38 special, and 357 for me.)

thanks in advance :thanks:

Re: Cleanest target ammo?

For centerfire pistol cartridges, I use Winchester White Box and Remington UMC as my "range ammo." Large boxes (200+) can often be had for quite cheap, especially at Academy. They've been having sales almost every other week on it.

Both Winchester and Remington are reliable and burn fairly clean in everything I run them through, the brass holding up quite well.

That said, I also recently discovered Armscor's 357 Mag. Very clean and very accurate out of my Smith 686. I scored a few boxes of it at Cabela's for about $18+tax/box.