First photo through my Meade 8" telescope

Tonight, entirely on a whim, I took a photo of the Great Nebula in Orion through my telescope at prime focus. I've never done that before. I took a series of 25 images at 5 seconds exposure each and I processed them in a program called Deep Sky Stacker. For no preparation, bad focus, and no skill at image processing, I am shocked at how well it turned out. I think I'm about to have a whole new obsessive hobby.
try2-small.jpg
Here's a link to the full resolution image.

https://eldalin.com/wp-content/gallery/ ... y/try2.jpg
106+ recreational uses of firearms
1 defensive use
0 people injured
0 people killed

Re: First photo through my Meade 8" telescope

Good job, Eris! I have an old 10" Meade Schmidt-Cassegrain I haven't used in many, many years--too much light pollution here and the damn thing weighs a ton. But BOY, could it do a an AMAZING job! No GPS though--too old. Used to do film. Last time I used my 90mm Meade ETX was to shoot the recent solar eclipse. My Sony Alpha fit on the old Minolta adapter perfectly.
"Even if the bee could explain to the fly why pollen is better than shit, the fly could never understand."

SubRosa wrote: Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:01 pm When I was a tenderfoot scout attending Camporee at the California Blackfoot Scout Reservation back in the 60's, we were treated to a trip over to Palomar observatory. I got a peek, don't even remember what I was looking at. I do remember one bigassed mirror.

Major Kudos to Eris!

SR
When we visited the Old Observatory in Greenwich (a boat-ride down the Thames) they had an old wooden telescope they said you could look through and see Pluto. They weren't lying!

"Even if the bee could explain to the fly why pollen is better than shit, the fly could never understand."