Howdy from North(?) Texas!

Hello. My name is Alan (username is just my most common internet pseudonym). I Live in the DFW metroplex (15 minutes due north of DFW international airport practically). I found this forum after doing some google searching and being tired of most of my local firearms talk coming with as much politics as anything else. I have a degree in criminal justice, and after a few training sessions with a glock 19 I bought one and got my commissioned guard license. I now own 4 firearms but i don't get much use out of them outside of indoor paper punching. I came here hoping to expand the number of people I could talk shop with, make a few friends, and maybe finally do something more interesting than punch holes in paper at 25 yards (sports shooting or longer range rifle shooting).

PS: the question mark in the title is because I know at least a few people who call the panhandle north Texas.

Re: Howdy from North(?) Texas!

sikacz wrote: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:24 pm Welcome from Houston! The Texas Chapter invites you to join us to shoot and eat BBQ! We have a Dallas Fort Worth area contingent as well. Again welcome!
definitely need to look into it. Although i think my rifle needs some work first. Bought an AR15 on the cheap but now I'm dealing with a busted crush washer on the muzzle, a thread-locked buffer tube, no zero on the ironsights,and the ever popular gas in the face. I already had to take a mallet to a cheap metal handstop(was there when i got it) that had its screws stripped to loosen it enough that i could pull them out by hand (would have drilled them out but someone hid all of the drill bits and i don't have ready access to a vise to keep it steady anyways).

So far my experience has been that cheap firearms just aren't.

BillMcD wrote: Fri Mar 16, 2018 11:39 pm