Trying to find a .357 lever gun but don't know where to look.

I've been eyeing getting something like this for a few months now, but between local prices, availability, and an unwillingness to go through hoops with an online purchase of a firearm, I haven't had the will to get one. I don't know why but lever guns around here are rare and expensive, well above MSRP even for used rifles. Also, they all seem to be in 30-30, 45-70, or something rarer and more expensive (not saying there's anything wrong with these cartridges, but if I want to use the rifle for target practice, I need cheap ammo). While i hear of model bases, I don't know what to actually look for. I've heard bad things about the current marlins due to remington cutting costs. I don't know anything about the other companies making new models. I would also like to be able to stick a low power scope on it so I can better see what im aiming at, but I don't know if that is practical with a lever rifle or not.

If this turns into a case of ordering over the web via local FFL, I probably need to go there and figure out how I'm supposed to actually do it.

This said, I'm probably going to hold off for a while on this, at least until i finish fixing up my AR, because I will probably sell it to make up some of the cost.

Re: Trying to find a .357 lever gun but don't know where to look.

senorgrand wrote: Sun Apr 15, 2018 12:36 am If you are ok with no loading gate, the Henry's are good.

If you have to have a loading gate, you'll probably have to buy one of the Italian ones. Winchester still makes a few and Marlin is supposed to be coming out with some.

The SASS folks have put a premium on a lot of the 357 levers.
A raffle for a brass and blue henry is what got me started looking at XD.

I'm not sure of the purpose of a loading gate.