First revolver?

Interested in getting a revolver, mostly for fun. Probably won't carry, but would be nice if it were concealable, just in case.

Any recommendations? I've read good things about the rock island m206 (price is appealing too). I'm a newbie to handguns, so something heavier to absorb the recoil would probably be better.

Re: First revolver?

I have 2 revolvers and I'm fond of both. Both are double action/single action.
First is a Ruger 1771, a 7 round 4.2" version of the GP100 series, in .357 magnum/.38 special.
Second is a new Taurus 692 Convertible, 6 1/2 " in .357 mag/.38 special, and 9mm. Also 7 rounds.
I suspect the Ruger is more reliable, but the Taurus is easier to shoot, with less barrel lift and recoil.

I bought the Taurus months ago but because of the pandemic, Friday was the first time I was willing to take it to a range to try it...and I was VERY impressed with the accuracy at 15 yards. I HOPE it holds up...
Last edited by YankeeTarheel on Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Even if the bee could explain to the fly why pollen is better than shit, the fly could never understand."

Revolvers appropriate for concealed carry are not shooter friendly. The small revolvers produce some very stiff recoil unless you have a Ruger SP-101, and then its on the heavy side for carry.

I don't really recommend revolvers for defense anymore. I reserve revolvers for sport and recreation; and in my book, there's nothing wrong with that. Not all firearms have to fill a defensive niche.

Of course the 3 makers I would recommend are Colt, S&W, or Ruger'. All 3 make world class revolvers, and you won't regret spending more. The typical "first" revolver is a .38/357 so take a look at what is available from those 3 makers.

And of course, if we're talking fun; Cowboy revolvers are a lot of fun too.
“I think there’s a right-wing conspiracy to promote the idea of a left-wing conspiracy”

Single action, double action only, or DA/SA?